The National Curriculum

Bishopstone School currently follows the National Curriculum.  At Bishopstone we have worked hard to develop a creative approach to teaching and learning throughout the school based on key skills.  This has led to a more topic-based, creative curriculum throughout the school which places value on the wide range of ways children engage in learning. Due to the nature of our classes we sourced the advice and consultation of 'Dimensions Creative Curriculum'.  With them we have created a rolling programme for both EYFS/KS1/KS2 with additional resources including PSHE, dance, drama and topics.  These are then integrated into our broad curriculum this year.  If you wish to see the National Curriculum complete programmes of study that are integrated within the Dimensions Curriculum for all subjects, please click here. 

  For further information on the Dimensions Curriculum Company please click on their logo.




Within Dimensions we have topic overview sheets which show how the children build upon their knowledge and reinforce their skills each visit. 


The topics that they cover in KS2 fall across broad categories but often will have one particular subject that is the main focus, these include: History, Geography, Science with the other foundation subjects featuring alongside.  See below for some examples of the knowledge building sheets:

Come and join the celebration (Autumn T2) - History/RE and PSHE based on a range of religions

Operation Pied Piper (Sprint T1) - History based around WW2

Three Giant Steps (Spring T2) - Geography based around both local and world features


Early Years Foundation Stage – Reception Class

Children entering Reception have access to the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) curriculum.  For Government Framework published 3rd March 2017 please click here.

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

 It is based on three prime and four specific areas of learning, and the three characteristics of effective learning set out below:

The prime areas of learning:

  • 1. Communication and language
  • 2. Physical development
  • 3. Personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning:

  • 1. Literacy
  • 2. Maths
  • 3. Understanding the world
  • 4. Expressive arts and design

Characteristics of effective learning:

  • 1. Playing and exploring
  • 2. Active learning
  • 3. Creative and thinking critically

Key Stage 1 (Years 1 & 2) and Key Stage 2 (Years 3 – 6)

The National Curriculum provides a framework for teaching key skills that our children are taught from Year 1- Year 6.  These are taught through different subjects and focus areas. 

 Through these themes and topics, the skills in each of the following subject areas are developed:

  • English  

    • Spoken Language

    • Reading (word reading, comprehension)

    • Writing (transcription, composition, vocabulary, grammar and punctuation)

  • Maths   

    • Number

    • Measurement

    • Geometry (shape and space)

    • Statistics

    • Problem solving and reasoning will feature throughout teaching.

  • Science

    • Scientific Enquiry

    • Life Processes and Living Things

    • Materials & their Properties

    • Physical Processes

  • Computing

  • Religious Education (R.E.)

  • Personal Health and Social Education (P.H.S.E.)

  • History

  • Geography

  • Art

  • Design Technology (D.T.)

  • Music

  • Physical Education (P.E.)

  • Modern Foreign Language – French

You are always welcome to arrange to meet the class teacher at any point during the year who can answer specific questions regarding the National Curriculum. 



Early Learning Foundation Stage Ages 2-5 Nursery and Reception
Key Stage 1 Ages 5-7 Years 1 and 2
Key Stage 2 Ages 7-11 Years 3, 4, 5 and 6